Specialty Board MOC4 Credit Equivalents

This table shows what each eligible specialty board awards to physicians who participate in QI initiatives approved by UCSF MOCAP.


Traditional MOCA: 1 Part IV Case Evaluation 

MOCA 2.0: Up to 20 Part IV Points for Participants 

MOCA 2.0: Up to 25 Part IV Points for Leaders 


1 Part IV practice assessment QI module 

Family and Community Medicine 

1 module or 20 points depending on certification year

Emergency Medicine 

1 patient care practice improvement activity 

Internal Medicine 

30 Practice Assessment points 

Medical Genetics and Genomics 

1 clinical practice module 

Obstetrics and Gynecology 

1 Part IV assignment (max allowed per calendar year) 


1 practice performance module 


1 performance improvement module 


1 Part IV activity 


1 Part IV activity or 25 points depending on certification year 

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation 

1 practice improvement project 

Preventive Medicine 

1 practice performance assessment 

Psychiatry and Neurology 

1 Improvement in Medical Practice (PIP) Clinical Module 


1 Practice Quality Improvement (PQI) project 


1 quality assessment program or participation in an outcomes database 

Thoracic Surgery 

1 activity or quality assessment program 


1 MOC-PS activity 

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) 30 PI-CME Credits


*Please note that UCSF MOCAP is not able to award MOC4 credit to diplomates of the following boards:
American Board of Allergy and Immunology, American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery, American Board of Neurological Surgery, American Board of Nuclear Medicine, American Board of Orthopedic Surgery, American Board of Plastic Surgery.